Page 23 of 40 FirstFirst ... 13212223242533 ... LastLast
Results 221 to 230 of 398

Thread: [SOLVED] HowTo set up EVDO card or usb enabled phone(CDMA)

  1. #221
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Connecticut US
    Beans
    267
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Arrow Re: [SOLVED] HowTo set up EVDO card or usb enabled phone(CDMA)

    You guys with Alltell service sometime need additional init line in wvdial.conf as well correct domain and pasword configuration.
    PHP Code:
    [Dialer Defaults
    Stupid Mode on 
    Modem 
    = /dev/ttyACM0 
    Baud 
    921600 
    Init 
    ATZ 
    Init2 
    ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=&C1 &D2 +FCLASS=
    Phone 
    #777 
    Username = ??????????@alltel.net
    Password 
    alltel
    Init1 
    ATZ 
    ISDN 

    Modem Type 
    Analog Modem 
    Auto Reconnect 
    on 
    Carrier Check 
    no 
    [Dialer shh
    Init3 ATM0 
    [Dialer pulse
    Dial Command ATDP 
    I see other people having same problem, if it wont fix it you may want to send them a private message or e-mail to get exact specs.
    Those some of posts i seen with this same problem:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...1&postcount=53
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...&postcount=205
    I'v never worked with Alltell so i'm somewhat fuzzy on what exactly causes exit code-2 in this case but i know that bunch of people got their Alltell Evdo modems running using this how to .
    Dell power edge 710 64bit - Dual 6 Core Xeons -64Gig ram:64bit-10.04-LTSLatitude E6400, Intel chipset, intel integrated graphics , Iw-3945ABG-Pro-miniPCI , UM150 EVDO , Orinoco-Gold-Pcmci , 14.1-WXGA+ ,10.04-64bit.Gnome

  2. #222
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Connecticut US
    Beans
    267
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Smile Re: [SOLVED] HowTo set up EVDO card or usb enabled phone(CDMA)

    For Alltell i have also seen this How to in the forums:

    Step 1 - Get the phone recognized.
    This is, by far, the hardest part, and what caused most of my problems. The V3a is unique enough that the kernel build in Kubuntu 7.04 didn't recognize it, and give it a port immediately. I felt my way along many a blind alley trying to get cdc-acm to work, and finally found a solution in usbserial (info for that gleaned from http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=343989).

    When you plug the cellphone into the computer, cdc-acm is supposed to automatically assign it a /dev point to bind to. With the V3a being so new, the kernel can't figure it out, and you end up with the following in dmesg:

    Code:

    ~$ dmesg | tail
    [23574.428000] usb 2-1: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 4
    [23574.644000] usb 2-1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice

    Notice, no info on a port assignment or the like, it notes that there's only one choice available to the kernel, and that's basically that it's there, and nothing more. A useless brick, if you will, connected via USB.

    cdc-acm is supposed to kick in here and assign it a point. As I said, that doesn't happen with the V3a. So, we have to determine the info from the phone that we can, and use usbserial instead.

    We'll need to compare device listing outputs to do this, so for now, disconnect your phone.
    Code:

    ~$ cat /proc/bus/usb/devices > devices

    This will create a file ~/devices, basially a listing of all devices currently connected to your machine. A snapshot, if you will, of the current stuff attached to your computer.

    Now, connect your phone. Give it a few moments, the phone should beep a few times. We can now compare what's currently connected to what was connected, and find the info from the phone itself.
    Code:

    ~$ diff /proc/bus/usb/devices devices | grep Vendor

    What that command does is looks at the current device list (/proc/bus/usb/devices) and compares it (using the diff command) to what you had when you didn't have the phone connected. Finally, we filter it through grep (a search engine of sorts) for just what we want, the vendor info. You should get a single line detailing the vendor and product ID.
    Code:

    ~$ diff /proc/bus/usb/devices devices | grep Vendor
    < P: Vendor=22b8 ProdID=2ac4 Rev= 0.01

    Now, we have the vendor and product info for the phone.

    Next, we need to load the usbserial module in, with that specific information associated with it.

    Code:

    ~$ sudo modprobe usbserial vendor=0x22b8 product=0x2ac4

    That loads usbserial in, and gives it a vendor and product to work with. If you do this while the phone is still connected, it should beep at you.

    Finally, disconnect the phone, and reconnect it. After a few seconds (and a few beeps from the phone), check the message log again.

    Code:

    ~$ dmesg | tail
    [24439.348000] usb 2-1: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 6
    [24439.564000] usb 2-1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
    [24439.564000] usbserial_generic 2-1:1.0: generic converter detected
    [24439.564000] usb 2-1: generic converter now attached to ttyUSB0
    [24439.568000] usbserial_generic 2-1:1.1: generic converter detected
    [24439.568000] usb 2-1: generic converter now attached to ttyUSB1

    As you can see, we've now got it assigned to a port we can work with, in this case, /dev/ttyUSB0.

    Step 2 - setting up a ppp dialer
    Everyone will have their favorite method of doing this, what with the multitude of ppp dialers out there. Everything from fancy GUIs to collections of shell scripts. Personally, I use KDE, and like the KPPP dialer. It manages everything rather well for me.

    The basics:
    Username - your 10-digit phone number@alltel.net
    Password - alltel
    Number - #777
    Device - /dev/ttyUSB0

    That should be what you'd need for most any dialer out there. The rest that follows is specific to KPPP.

    Launch KPPP, click Configure.

    On the Accounts tab, click New. In the warning, click Manual Configuration. For configuration name, put in anything you want (I put AllTel). Click Add, and enter #777 for the phone number. Click OK twice, and you'll be back on the KPPP Configurations dialog.

    On the Modems tab, click New. For modem name, enter anything (I put V3a), for device, choose /dev/ttyUSB0. Click OK.

    OK out of the KPPP Configuration dialog.

    Enter your username (remember, your 10-digit phone number@alltel.net), and the password (alltel).

    You should be all set now, you can choose to "show log window" if you want, to see the progress, but otherwise, click connect and go!

    There's 2 problems with this setup, you'll need to modprobe that same device every time you want to use your EVDO 'net access, but the Prod/vendor info never change. Easily done in a shell script or during boottime, up to you. The other issue is if you disconnect, then want to reconnect right away, it appears the phone doesn't really 'let go' properly, and must be unplugged and reconnected to make that 2nd ppp connection. Again, you don't have to go through the finding/modprobe step again, just pull the cable and reconnect it.
    Dell power edge 710 64bit - Dual 6 Core Xeons -64Gig ram:64bit-10.04-LTSLatitude E6400, Intel chipset, intel integrated graphics , Iw-3945ABG-Pro-miniPCI , UM150 EVDO , Orinoco-Gold-Pcmci , 14.1-WXGA+ ,10.04-64bit.Gnome

  3. #223
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    44
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: [SOLVED] HowTo set up EVDO card or usb enabled phone(CDMA)

    This may sound stupid but the one help says to run the PPP or KPPP how do I do that? Throught the terminal?

    Thank You

  4. #224
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Connecticut US
    Beans
    267
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: [SOLVED] HowTo set up EVDO card or usb enabled phone(CDMA)

    Few posts back there is a link to sprint document outlining the process.
    Dell power edge 710 64bit - Dual 6 Core Xeons -64Gig ram:64bit-10.04-LTSLatitude E6400, Intel chipset, intel integrated graphics , Iw-3945ABG-Pro-miniPCI , UM150 EVDO , Orinoco-Gold-Pcmci , 14.1-WXGA+ ,10.04-64bit.Gnome

  5. #225
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    22

    Re: [SOLVED] HowTo set up EVDO card or usb enabled phone(CDMA)

    Yes very much ty for that

  6. #226
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    1

    Re: [SOLVED] How To set up EVDO card or usb enabled phone ( CDMA modem ) Updated

    Just another happy user letting you know this worked great for me!

    OS: kubuntu desktop 8.04
    Hardware: ASUS S6F laptop
    Modem: PANTECH UM150VW USB
    Provider: Verizon

    Thank you!!

  7. #227
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    1

    Re: [SOLVED] HowTo set up EVDO card or usb enabled phone(CDMA)

    Hi,

    I was able to make my card work with 2GB of memory, but after upgrading to 4GB of memory it fails to detect the card.

    The command "cat /proc/bus/usb/devices" does not list the device.
    With 2GB it shows up as

    Vendor=106c ProdID=3702 Rev= 1.00

    Also when the card is inserted with 4GB of memory /var/log/messages reports the following.

    May 26 15:23:20 wrc-laptop kernel: pccard: CardBus card inserted into slot 0
    May 26 15:23:20 wrc-laptop kernel: PCI: Enabling device 0000:04:00.0 (0000 -> 0002)
    May 26 15:23:20 wrc-laptop kernel: ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:04:00.0[A] -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ
    18
    May 26 15:23:20 wrc-laptop kernel: ACPI: PCI interrupt for device 0000:04:00.0 disabled
    May 26 15:23:20 wrc-laptop kernel: ohci_hcd 0000:04:00.0: init 0000:04:00.0 fail, -14
    May 26 15:23:20 wrc-laptop kernel: ohci_hcd: probe of 0000:04:00.0 failed with error -14
    May 26 15:23:20 wrc-laptop kernel: PCI: Enabling device 0000:04:00.1 (0000 -> 0002)
    May 26 15:23:20 wrc-laptop kernel: ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:04:00.1[B] -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ 18
    May 26 15:23:20 wrc-laptop kernel: ACPI: PCI interrupt for device 0000:04:00.1 disabled
    May 26 15:23:20 wrc-laptop kernel: ohci_hcd 0000:04:00.1: init 0000:04:00.1 fail, -14
    May 26 15:23:20 wrc-laptop kernel: ohci_hcd: probe of 0000:04:00.1 failed with error -14

    When the card is inserted with 2GB of memory it reports the following.

    May 26 13:48:08 wrc-laptop kernel: pccard: CardBus card inserted into slot 0
    May 26 13:48:08 wrc-laptop kernel: PCI: Enabling device 0000:04:00.0 (0000 -> 0002)
    May 26 13:48:08 wrc-laptop kernel: ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:04:00.0[A] -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ 18
    May 26 13:48:08 wrc-laptop kernel: ohci_hcd 0000:04:00.0: OHCI Host Controller
    May 26 13:48:08 wrc-laptop kernel: ohci_hcd 0000:04:00.0: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 8
    May 26 13:48:08 wrc-laptop kernel: ohci_hcd 0000:04:00.0: irq 18, io mem 0x8c000000
    May 26 13:48:09 wrc-laptop kernel: usb usb8: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
    May 26 13:48:09 wrc-laptop kernel: hub 8-0:1.0: USB hub found
    May 26 13:48:09 wrc-laptop kernel: hub 8-0:1.0: 1 port detected
    May 26 13:48:09 wrc-laptop kernel: PCI: Enabling device 0000:04:00.1 (0000 -> 0002)
    May 26 13:48:09 wrc-laptop kernel: ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:04:00.1[B] -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ 18
    May 26 13:48:09 wrc-laptop kernel: ohci_hcd 0000:04:00.1: OHCI Host Controller
    May 26 13:48:09 wrc-laptop kernel: ohci_hcd 0000:04:00.1: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 9
    May 26 13:48:09 wrc-laptop kernel: ohci_hcd 0000:04:00.1: irq 18, io mem 0x8c001000
    May 26 13:48:09 wrc-laptop kernel: usb usb9: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
    May 26 13:48:09 wrc-laptop kernel: hub 9-0:1.0: USB hub found
    May 26 13:48:09 wrc-laptop kernel: hub 9-0:1.0: 1 port detected
    May 26 13:48:11 wrc-laptop kernel: usb 8-1: new full speed USB device using ohci_hcd and address 2
    May 26 13:48:11 wrc-laptop kernel: usb 8-1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
    May 26 13:48:11 wrc-laptop kernel: cdc_acm 8-1:1.0: ttyACM0: USB ACM device
    May 26 13:48:11 wrc-laptop kernel: usbcore: registered new interface driver cdc_acm
    May 26 13:48:11 wrc-laptop kernel: drivers/usb/class/cdc-acm.c: v0.25:USB Abstract Control Model driver for USB modems and ISDN adapters

    Any ideas on how to fix this?

    Thanks

  8. #228
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Connecticut US
    Beans
    267
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Arrow Re: [SOLVED] HowTo set up EVDO card or usb enabled phone(CDMA)

    Unfortunately i haven't seen this before but from the log it looks that you are not getting proper IRQ addressing which has been changed since you installed new chips.
    First try just reloading the driver for the evdo card and if this wont work you will have to reload drivers for the card connector (usb or PCMCI) and then reload driver for the card itself again .
    With new drivers it will assign new IRQ interrupt addresses corresponding to new memory.
    Last edited by Mach1US; May 31st, 2008 at 02:28 AM.
    Dell power edge 710 64bit - Dual 6 Core Xeons -64Gig ram:64bit-10.04-LTSLatitude E6400, Intel chipset, intel integrated graphics , Iw-3945ABG-Pro-miniPCI , UM150 EVDO , Orinoco-Gold-Pcmci , 14.1-WXGA+ ,10.04-64bit.Gnome

  9. #229
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Beans
    25

    Re: [SOLVED] HowTo set up EVDO card or usb enabled phone(CDMA)

    I got internet working with an Alltel LG AX8600 and wvdial, but I would like to get it working with Network manager. (As I have to constantly tell Firefox that I am online to browse.) But for some reason it isn't working. I am using port /dev/ttyACM0 for my connection in wvdial, but the network manager doesn't give it as an option. (So I enter it manually.)
    Other posts say that "It just works." with the dialer like that. I am blacklisting like first suggested. Any suggestions?

  10. #230
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NC
    Beans
    8
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: [SOLVED] HowTo set up EVDO card or usb enabled phone(CDMA)

    I was able to get my alltel um150 to work with this thread for the most part. I can get online to surf the web with firefox, but I have to uncheck the work offline button every time. I also can't seem to get anything else to recognize I'm online such as Synaptic, apt-get, etc. The network icon in the upper right of gnome says "no network connection". Any help would be appreciated.

Page 23 of 40 FirstFirst ... 13212223242533 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •